Nicholas Morgan, Chataigne #2

24 07 2009

Over the past weekend I went to the restaurant “El Rancho Grande” in New Buffalo, MI. This restaurant has Tex-Mex cuisine and a very authentic atmosphere. We were seated right away in the bar area because my friend wanted to watch a particular game on one of their three widescreens. Expediter immediately came with home-made chips and salsa. I also asked for some guac. We were then greeted by a waiter who give us a brief over view of the menu and recommended a few drink specials. I got a catalina margarita.
As I looked over the menu I noticed that they had a wide variety of items. From Fajitas to spicy Mexican style Baby Back Ribs to the Huachinango, which is a deep fried Red Snapper served with tortillas, rice and beans and a variety of sauces. There were so many options so I decided that I wanted to go with the A LA Carte menu. I ordered the Taco Duncan, an enchilada and an order of Chile Rellenos. It took a few minutes to get these items. They were all delicious and very different from one another at the same time.
We found out that our waiter, Manny, was from Aguascalientes, Mexico. He was the person who brought all of the recipes on the menu from his grandmother. He was the type of person who did it all. He also gave us a brief history of his families background.
After our meal it was time for the check. We were all shocked to see that our meal was under $100.00 for the four of us. We gladly paid the bill and left a 25% tip for our waiter.
I gave El Rancho Grande an “A” for that evening. The entire dining experience was smooth, flawless and not rushed. I felt informed about the restaurant and I would definitely go back.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

