Ashley Moehring

19 06 2009

Before I began the wine and beverage course I enjoyed drinking wine, but had almost no educational knowlege about the subject. I knew that red wine had tannin with carried antioxidants, and how to decant wine, but that was about it. Now that I have been through two weeks of the course I not only know what I am purchasing, but I understand how the wine I am buying came to be that way. I have found this course to be extremely useful and enjoyable because of the way wine is related to food. I have found that Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand is my favorite wine to drink. I really like the citric flavor and crispness the wine provides. My two favorites were the Kim Crawford and the Oyster Bay from Marlborough. My least favorite wines were predominately the reds from the new world. They were too harsh and tannic, and I didn’t like the fact that I felt like I should brush my teeth after one drink. The ’08 Cabernet Sauvignon from Colchagua Valley was my least favorite of all though. Today we tasted our first reds from France, and while they were high in alcohol, the body was much more mellow. I am really enjoying the course, and I wish it lasted for six weeks rather than three because I feel like I could learn a lot more.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

