I’ve never been a fan of carrots by kyle dixon

5 06 2009

I’ve never been a fan of carrots.  They just taste icky.  I hoped at this point in my culinary training, that I would be able to give a break down of what icky really means, but sometimes I just feel like the word, itself, does the trick.  I really don’t know I can’t stand them, but I know I’d rather chew off my own feet than eat a carrot.

You might be asking yourself, why is he talking about carrots?  I mean it does have to do with the industy, which loosely qualifies for this second blog, but how is this relavent to anything Kyle talks about.  And I’m sure that you might also be thinking that this useless rambling taste up a lot of astetic space, making it seem like a lot of information was give, when in all respects, almost nothing was said.  However, that is not entirely true.  I say entirely, because there is some validity in that, and it would be dishonest to completly ignore that, which is already posed as common knowledge. 

If you’re still with me and remember the beginning of this blog where I talked about carrots, you’ll be happy to know that it is infact, going somewhere.  I never did like carrots, until…and there is an, until.  Not to make you believe that I, now love carrots, when I firmly believe that they are on the bottom of the foods that I’d eat, yet the distance once held in my heart, or lack there of, no longer emits that certain social pressure that once made carrots feel like they were destined only to be stock particles. 

The until that I had started to get at, was Green City Markets.  I had never had a carrot from a farmer’s market, only from cans and what seemed edible at the grocery store.  Until that day, almost a year ago, I don’t think I had ever eaten a real carrot…at least none that were organic and locally grown.  I’m not saying that I’m running out to the local farmer’s market to by carrots, but I wouldn’t snub my nose to them the next time they are served from there.  I’m glad we have farmer’s marekts in Chicago and believe that many good things are to come when citizens support local farmers, with locally grown produce.  Going to the grocery store for some, might be practical and easier, but passing up simple, organic produce that hard working locals have grow, is just a little hard to swallow.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

