Wine and bev.

2 06 2009

Before taking Mike Willison’s wine class I had little or no knowledge of wine. I would just pick up a bottle of wine, not knowing what the label meant and cross my fingers and hope that the wine would somehow turn out tasting good. I was sort of intimidated by the mysterious world of wine. There is so much information and history about growing grapes, making wine, and enjoying it, but thanks to Mike, acquiring a basic knowledge of wine was way easier than I ever hoped it would be. The class is dynamic and fun; I only wish it wouldn’t end so soon. I have learned the difference between old world and new world wines, and have built an appreciation for the age old tradition of terreir in old world countries such as France, Germany, and Spain. You can really taste the earth, soil, and air of the place that these grapes are grown, which can be either very intriguing or very funky depending on the wine. My favorites are some of the sweet German wines like Riesling and gewürztraminer, but I also enjoy the more robust, punch-you-in-the-face ones like merlot; I also tend to be a sucker for the girly rose wines. Needless to say, I have learned a lot in this class and enjoyed every second of it; but I know that there is much more to explore in the fascinating world of wine and will continue to seek more knowledge.  

-Ariel Brumby

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

