How to Convince Your Friends to Eat Bambi by Lizzy E.

6 11 2008

I grew up eating venison with fervor throughout my entire childhood.
My dad hunted and it was always an exciting day when we would get the
shipment of meat from his outing.  We would all gather in the kitchen
and help make my father’s favorite dish: sautéed venison with boxed
mashed potatoes and canned peas.  Growing up I always loved this, and
must admit to this day it is one of my favorite comfort foods meals, but
when other people would visit they would be bothered by the fact that
“Bambi” was sitting on their plates.

I love to serve venison to my dinner guests today because it remains my

favorite protein, but now I choose to wait and tell my guests that it is venison until

the meal is finished. Even adults are often bothered by eating an animal associated with a Disney film. In order to entice them to eat this dish time and time again, I like to freshen up my dad’s version of it. If I make the dish good enough so that people will be coaxed into eating Bambi without remorse

My New Recipe is as Follows:

Serves 4:

1 lb Venison

1 Egg

1 Cup Flour

1 Cup Panko Bread Crumbs

TT Salt

TT Black Pepper

½ lb Fresh Green Beans

½ lb Wax Beans

TT Salt

1 lb Fingerling Potatoes

As Needed Olive Oil

TT Rosemary

TT Salt

TT Black Pepper

¼ Cup Sugar

As Needed Water

2 T Red Wine Vinegar

2 T Pinot Noir

1 T Cranberry Juice

2 T Shallot, finely chopped

1 Cup Veal Stock

2 T Butter, cold and cubed

Coat fingerling potatoes with olive oil then season to taste with rosemary, salt and pepper. Bake covered in a 400 degree oven for 40 minutes then uncovered in a 350 degree oven until golden and tender.

Tenderize venison with textured side of tenderizer. Season venison on both sides with salt and pepper. Dredge through flour, then egg, then bread crumbs. Sautee until brown on both sides and done to taste. Cover with foil and set in warm oven.

Blanch and shock green and wax beans in seasoned water.

Sauté shallot in butter and set aside. Place sugar in a sauté pan with just enough water to make a wet sand consistency. Heat sugar until caramelized. Deglaze with wine and vinegar then add cranberry juice and cherries. Stirring, reduce by half to dissolve caramel. Take the sauce off the heat and add cold butter in small amounts until sauce is glossy.

To serve, reheat beans in boiling water and make sure they are seasoned to taste.

Actions

Information

One response

2 12 2008
A Very Southern Christmas « MISTER DIPLOMAT

[…] which they later admit was VENISON, that’s right, Deer Meat. It has nothing to do with Bambi. I could care less about Bambi – I just don’t like the idea of eating something someone caught after watching the crack of […]

Leave a Reply

