Epicurean Classic by Suzie Keenan

25 09 2008

    I went to the Epicurean Classic in Traverse City michigan a few weekends ago and I have to say that I was not very impressed.  I have been going to this event for the past 3 years and this year was by far my least favorite.  The first demo that I attended was put on by Carolyn Burghoff of Burghoff restaurant downtown.  I was really excited to see her because I thought that she might talk about the restaurant a little bit and show us some recipes from there but I was wrong.  Instead she spent an hour talking about decorating and planning for a party that you might have and then she went on to help other people in the crowd plan their upcoming parties.  Needless to say it was not a great way to start out my day.  After that we moved on to a class about curries. Raghaven Iyer was the chef and although he was really a great teacher and the food was delicious he only made on dish which was a disappointment but none the less it was much better than the first class.  Our next stop was the wine pavilion which really how can you go wrong.  You can taste as much wine as you want and the have some local restaurants there with tasting.  This part was great!  When we were done with the wine pavilion we went to see Danyel Couet.  This class was great and almost made of the fact that the first class was such a huge disappointment.  The Chef talked out his restaurant in stockholm and how he got his start as a chef.  He was also a great teacher and I found his extremely interesting.  I also got the chance to talk to him after the class and that reinforced what I thought about him during the class.  Although the first two classes were not that exciting the wine pavilion and Danyel Couet made the trip worth while.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

