Black listed- Josh C

6 09 2008

It’s been about 11 months since the beginning of this monumental journey and it’s been quite a unique experience. in these 11 months i have taken some monumental steps in my life.  i married my girlfriend of five years, as well as planned my upcoming final semester of my bachelor’s degree at purdue, i’ve straightened my life out and feel good about the direction my life is heading in.

Now, that that’s out of the way i plan on expressing myself regarding my experiences at CHIC in a clear concise manner.  this may offend some people, but anyone reading this knows me and realize that i really don’t care who i offend.

First off, chef Z, what follows does not include you, as far as I’m concerned you have always given me a fair shake and for that, your in my cool book.  i think the only other one i can say that about is chef Fuente.

Now, down to business. in my 11 months, i have been exposed to some areas of the industry that i feel are instrumental in my future here in this area.  on the other hand, i have been exposed to the belly of the beast sort of speak.  For starters,  i have noticed the hiarcy here at Chic.  there is a central click of instructors and if you run a foul of one of said instructors, your skating uphill for the remainder of your time here. 

for the first time in my life I’ve experienced political alienation from within the institution. but, on the other side, I’ve learned to appreciate my own opinion and value the opinions of my peers.  Considering this, i can  extend this knowlesge into the “Real World”  workplace.  i think that the multiple attempts of exploitations of my character has built my armor stronger and more dependable. 

Next, i feel that this cafe class has been benificical in two ways, one, it has given me a sense of appreciation for my wait staff and  what they must indure on a daily basis.  last. it taught me the true work habit of my class mates but that is as far as i’m gonna go with that one.

Last this experience has taught me that Purdue, although  large still gives the student the feeling of accomplishment and worth, a feeling of enrichment about what oyu have accomplished.  this school just failed to deliver on that area.  It taught me how personalities can affect experiences.  how one persons opinion can affect the outlook of a person before they step foot into the assigned kitchen.  i find this to be juvinile and painful.

Last, and in closing, i think i’m gonna steal a move from my boys Julian and Jorge and end with a quote.

“I am not going to sit on my ass as the events that affect me unfold to determine the course of my life. I’m going to take a stand. I’m going to defend it. Right or wrong, I’m going to defend it.” 

so, as a final note, my last thought as i prepar to finish my final section; fun and memorable, but clearly not worth 43K

See all of you on the flip side 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

