HOW I GOT HERE AND DID IT MEAN ANYTHING? BY LATOYA J.

13 08 2008

I CAN REMEMBER TELLING MY GRANDMOTHER WHEN I WAS TWELVE THAT NO MATTER WHATANYONE SAID I WAS GOING TO BECOME A FAMOUS CHEF AND COOK FOR SOMEONE EVEN MORE FAMOUS. SHE TOLD ME I COULD DO WHATEVER I WANTED TO DO IN LIFE AND THAT SHE WOULD SUPPORT ME IN EVERY WAY SHE COULD AS LONG AS IT WAS POSITIVE. SO AROUND JUNE 2007 I WENT TO A COLLEGE MEETING FOR SENIORS AT MY HIGHSCHOOL AND I OVERHEARD A CONVERSATION AMONG TWO WOMEN ABOUT THIS MAGNIFICENT CULINARY SCHOOL THAT ONE OF THEIR DAUGHTERS GRADUATED FROM THAT WAS THERE. SO I WENT ON A SEARCH AROUND THE GYM ROOM AND SPOTTED THE BLUE AND WHITE TABLE WITH A VERY BIG “THE COOKING AND HOSPITALITY INSTITUTE OF CHICAGO “CHIC” ” SIGN BEHIND IT. I STARTED TALKING TO A REP AND WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE THINGS I FOUND OUT, SO I GAVE CHIC A CALL AND THEY SCHEDULED ME AN APPOINTMENT TO COME CHECK THE SCHOOL OUT. ALL OF THE PEOPLE HERE WERE VER PLEASANT AND GAVE ME A VERY WELCOMING FEELING. AFTER TOURING THE SCHOOL AND SEEING THE BIGGEST KITCHEN I’D EVER SEEN I HAD MADE A DECISION. SO WE STARTED REGISTRATION AND YOU KNOW THE REST! MY TIME HERE HAS BEEN DIFFERENT. I DIDN’T LIKE IT AT FIRST BECAUSE I WASN’T USED TO BEING AROUND SO MANY DIFFERENT TYPES OF PEOPLE AND I DIDN’T REALLY TALK TO ANYONE. BUT THEN THE STUDENTS IN MY COHORT STARTED TO MAKE ME FEEL VERY WELCOME AND AT EASE. I STARTED TO WARM UP TO THEM AND EVERYTHING WAS EASIER FROM THEN ON. NOW I WONT STOP TALKING!!!LOL BUT THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST EXPERIENCE FOR ME AND I GOT A CHANCE TO MEET SOME AMAZING PEOPLE AND LEARN SOOOOO MANY NEW THINGS. I LEARNED THAT I WAS DOING THINGS WRONG THAT I JUST KNEW I WAS SO SURE ABOUT. I LEARNED SANITATION, BOY WAS I WRONG ABOUT THAT!!!! I LEARNED FOOD SAFETY, PREPERATION METHODS, PROPER WORDING, AND ALL KINDS OF THINGS THAT I NEVER KNEW WAS SO IMPORTANT WHEN IT CAME TO THE KITCHEN. MY TIME HERE AT CHIC HAS BEEN AMAZING AND IM GOING TO MISS YOU GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

