Who Would Guess I Talk About Alcohol… by Emily Z.

26 07 2008

Over my last year at CHIC, I have tried taking note of different characteristics in different alcohols. Somehow, woman and all, I can’t tell flavors and aromas to save my life. Rather, I can’t describe what I’m noticing. While my classes helped me out, and my own personal experience and practicing of opening wine bottles (wink wink nudge nudge) have assisted my improvement, I am still nowhere near the level I want to be.

Wine pairing, mixed drink creations, and cooking with alcohols are all something I want to perfect. I want to get to the point of not needing to sit down and overly concentrate on specific ideas, and just be able to do it and know it will work. I feel I do well most of the time, at least with mixed drinks. On many levels, that’s been my life for five years.

It’s getting to be the time when I need to specify a direction or style, and that’s when things start to get fuzzy. Where to start? I want to do it all and am afraid sometimes that I’ll bite off more than I can chew. Granted, I am used to that, I still have so much to learn. Finding who to learn from and what to do is a problem I’m not sure how to fix.

Someday I will be able to work seamlessly. Eventually I will get it down. But until then, the inability to discover where to begin is slowly driving me mad… and occasionally to practice with wine bottles.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

