C.H.I.C. by Yesenia T.

28 06 2008

Wow! This was one heck of a school year for me. It was my first year of college right after I have only graduated from high school three weeks before I began school in The Cooking and Hospitality Institute of Chicago. And I made it…well not quite yet because I still need to do my externship. However, even though I am almost graduating, it was hard work getting where I am now (but then again, you do need to bust your ass to get what you want in life)!

The classes were fun (especially because I had an awesome cohort and Chefs) but it was hard work. I had no idea that the culinary industry was so much work and how much you had to bust your ass. I always thought it was (in a way) calm, smiles, and friendliness going on, like it is portrayed on the Food Network. I was so dead wrong! It is a fast paced industry that can swallow you up and spit you out if you’re not on top of your game! I really did learn a lot, but maybe because I absolutely didn’t know anything about this industry. I learned cuts, stock making, and everything. But there was one class that was the hardest class that I had taken, The Front of the House!

Don’t get me wrong, I did learn a lot in that class with Chef Tim. I learned to serve from the right, start with the ladies, and most importantly…SILVERWARE! However, it was a hard class for me. The easy part of that class was setting up the dinning room, well, sometimes because we did take a while setting up. But the challenging part was service! The reason service was the most challenging part for me was because I am really shy. I have a hard time talking to people I don’t know. I get nervous, tongue tide, and turn red! That is why I loved being the bartender, but of course, I did have to be a waitress in that class someday. The first day I was a waitress, I was terrible but I served nice forgiving ladies that helped me in my mistakes. Thank you! After the first day I was a waitress, I became less nervous. I did make mistakes but I recognize them and gave myself a hard time, but the customers always said it was fine and gave me a smile.

I still have a hard time talking to people, but I guess I’m starting to get over it which is a good thing because you need people to hear you in this industry. I learn a lot in C.H.I.C. and I am grateful for having the chance in coming to this institute for an education…but most importantly, I am grateful for all the new friends I have made! I love you all and I wish you all the best of luck! And just because we don’t go to school together anymore, you guys better call me so we can hang out!!! I hope we always keep in touch and I’ll never forget all of you…and the Chefs! Now we all have to apply all our knowledge in this industry to become the Chefs we are!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

