My time serving, by Tyler T.

25 06 2008

For the past three weeks, I’ve been serving people in the café at my school, the Cooking and Hospitality Institute of Chicago. For the first week, it wasn’t so bad. I was new to this and have never served a table in my life.

However, even after three weeks, it seems not only has my class been slipping, but myself personally. One thing we always forget is setting the right silverware. We clear plates but forget to set new forks, spoons, and knives. This has been haunting us for the duration of the class and is still not fixed.

Other than that, there’s nothing too bad. However, my first day of service, I was placed on the VIP table, with both the head of the Culinary department and the school VP. I was nervous as could be. I was sweating, shaking, and flat out scared. These were higher ups in the system and it was my first day serving! How would I fare?

Not so good, as the comment card showed. My nervousness was clearly highlighted and the one thing that struck me the most is what I shall call “The Lemon Fiasco.”

Someone at the table ordered iced tea with lemon, and I obliged them. I found one and brought it to the table. However, I made the mistake of attempting to place it on the glass, which is a Sanitation FAILURE! And it will stick with me forever throughout my career. It is a valuable lesson that I take from an error I made.

But in all seriousness, my time here is just exposure. I have no telling what it’s like in a bigger restaurant, but I have a newfound respect for food servers who are in higher cover establishments. Only then could I judge myself on my serving skills.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

